Stucco repair

Old 12-30-13, 11:04 AM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stucco repair

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the forum and to home DIY. I'd like to tackle the job of fixing stucco that is falling apart around the house. While I've seen a great deal of helpful instructions all over the 'net, I'd like to be sure I approach the correct steps to fix existing stucco issues. We moved to the house in Los Angeles with newly finished exterior in 2010, until the stucco issues started appearing . Thanks in advance for your help. Please let me know if you have questions.
Name:  20131226_081835.jpg
Views: 6089
Size:  50.2 KB
Name:  20131226_081854.jpg
Views: 3436
Size:  49.8 KB
Name:  20131226_081930.jpg
Views: 6933
Size:  39.7 KB

Old 12-30-13, 11:45 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I'm a painter not a mason but I've made quite a few of those types or repairs as a favor for my customers. I'd scrape and/or wire brush off anything that is loose and then apply some mortar trying to replicate the existing texture. If it's hot and dry, misting the area to be repaired with a little water will slow down the drying time helping it to bond better.

Some of the others might have better methods so stayed tuned

Old 12-30-13, 11:54 AM
L
marksr, thanks for your suggestion, will stay tuned. Is there any specific brand of mortar you use?

Old 12-31-13, 04:53 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
I generally use whatever is handy ...... anything from a partial bag given to me by a mason to whatever brand the big box store sells. If you get the ready mix mortar you won't have to add sand.

Old 12-31-13, 12:41 PM
T
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
I see this all the time. I have a concrete engineer friend and he and I discuss the cause. What we decide is it is moisture related and capillary action.

But here is how I fix it. I thought I was doing everything right but I noticed on my own house some came back.