Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Exterior Paneling and All Exterior Sidings
Reload this Page >

How to I prepare the surface to install stone panel on the stucco?

Old 08-04-14, 08:34 AM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi,

I would like to install the stone panel on my front porch. As you can see in the picture, can I just apply thin-set to the stucco? If not, then what to do? And how do I install the archway and the underneath?

Thanks,

AstonName:  photo 1.jpg
Views: 2442
Size:  30.8 KBName:  photo 2.jpg
Views: 1426
Size:  30.5 KBName:  photo 3.jpg
Views: 3760
Size:  50.7 KBName:  photo.jpg
Views: 968
Size:  26.6 KBName:  photo.jpg
Views: 1256
Size:  36.3 KB

Old 08-04-14, 10:13 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

As a painter I've seen a lot of stone attached directly to masonry but the fact that the stucco is painted complicates things. A bare minimum would be applying a bonding agent, might need to install lath a bed coat of mortar. Stick around and see what some of the others say.

Old 08-04-14, 10:15 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 755 Votes on 694 Posts
Are you just doing the inner/back wall or do you also want to veneer the arch?

Old 08-04-14, 11:01 AM
A
Thank you guys.

I want to cover the whole thing ( 2 poles and the archway) with the stone panel.

I don't mind removing the stucco before installing the stone panel. I just need some proper instruction as I am a DIY newbie.

Old 08-04-14, 12:48 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 755 Votes on 694 Posts
Before doing anything I would come up with a plan to handle the arch. Do you have the ability to cut the stone? Can you install the stone without the cut edge showing? Will the cut edge be attractive enough for you? A flat wall with straight lines is pretty easy but the inner face of the arch and the curve of the arch on the face may open a can of worms especially for a first time project.

Old 08-04-14, 01:00 PM
A