Worst HardiPlank Install Ever?

Old 09-05-14, 10:45 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Worst HardiPlank Install Ever?

House next door is being flipped. Bought by an investment group 16 months ago. The 'fly by night' renovation crew is finally putting up the siding (over 60 yr old masonite 'brick' siding, but thats another story...

I'm a GC and I've been doing Hardi for about 6 yrs now. I started with my house, used tyvek, 3/8 EPS foil-backed GreenGuard Fan-fold sheets, then 8 1/2 lapped HardiPlank and Azek PVC Trim. It was a learning experience on my own house, but now I'm pretty good at it.

The said 'guys next door' are installing the smaller planks, over non-taped tyvek (why bother, right?) over the 60 yr old crappy cardboard masonite. Get this, they are hanging it fine, using the spacer clamps and all, then they are face-nailing every board after they hang it. Then to add insult to injury, they are caulking up the bottom joints. I give it 2 yrs before it starts to buckle, and by that time, there will likely be lots of mold growing as well. What a nightmare. Oh, also, no flashing around any of the windows (they used replacements in the old rotting frames), and obviously they did not fold in the tyvek around the frames. Total disaster waiting to happen.

My question: as a reputable contractor, do I offer any information on the renovation to prospective buyers? I want to yell at these guys, but they are not very professional and it would be reducing myself to their level. It's been difficult watching all this take place for over a year. I had to tell somebody!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-14, 10:47 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Need a permit for siding in your area? If so, I'd talk to the AHJ.

Old 09-05-14, 11:36 AM
D
Thanks!

Permits are not required for siding or windows in my local jurisdiction (Alexandria City, VA). Permits, as we know, protect the public from shoddy work. Not in this instance.