Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Exterior Paneling and All Exterior Sidings
Reload this Page >

I Need Advice Regarding T1-11 Panel Replacement and Flashing

Old 10-30-14, 09:01 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi. I need some advice. I am a novice DIY. I have an exterior wall that has T1-11. The windows were not flashed nor trimmed properly. There is flashing at the bottom of the T1-11 but there is not enough of a downward slope, so water collects in the joint between the T1-11 and flashing. Because of the lack of window flashing and the poorly angled flashing between the T1-11 and the foundation, I need to replace two of the T1-11 panels that are around the two windows.

I have a neighbor with a similar house and I have attached photos of how they connected the flashing from their T1-11 to their cement flashing. They have an opening on either end of the flashing, presumably to allow for air circulation. My neighbor's set up has worked for quite a while.

My questions-
1. Can I replace just the two T1-11 panels that are damaged, I don't want to replace all the panels.
2. Would using a product like dry-lock paint help to water proof the T1-11 and make it last longer?
3. What type of flashing material did my neighbor use, where can I purchase it? It appears to be a lightweight metal.
4. What type of product did my neighbor probably use to adhere the flashing to both the T1-11 and to the concrete foundation?
5. I only have basic tools. Are there any special tools I would need for this project?

I attached pictures of my house, showing where the damage to the T1-11 is and I have attached pictures of my neighbors exterior wall. The paint color is similar for both houses, my house has the two windows. I would ask my neighbor what materials were used, but it was done by a contractor a number of years ago, so they are not sure about the details. Thanks for your advice.

Attached Images      
Sponsored Links
Old 10-30-14, 10:19 AM