Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Exterior Paneling and All Exterior Sidings
Reload this Page >

Adding hose bib mounting block to existing fiber-cement siding

Old 08-10-15, 12:28 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I recently purchased a home that uses fiber-cement siding (Hardie Plank, I think). I would like to add a new hose bib to the house. The other hose bibs are mounted on blocks (example in this picture, Imgur). I have never worked with fiber-cement siding before. Is there a special tool or process to cut into the siding so I can add the mounting block?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-15, 03:28 PM
Group Moderator
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Cutting fiber cement siding can be cut with carbide and diamond tools. A grinder with a diamond wheel like you use for tile should work well as would a Roto-zip (or equivalent) with a carbide or Diamond bit. Lastly a vibratory saw like a Fein Multi Master (or equivalent) will cut through fiber cement siding but it will be the slowest in the bunch, however might be the easiest to control.

When you add your mounting block be sure to add flashing as shown in your picture so water does not get behind the siding.

Old 08-10-15, 03:37 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I assume that I need to be very careful when cutting through the fiber cement siding to keep from damaging whatever is underneath the siding (i.e., a waterproof barrier). Or is it just unavoidable and I need to repair the damage by patching the barrier and applying caulk?

Old 08-10-15, 03:44 PM
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
Yes your most likely to cut what's under the siding, not a big deal.
Slip in a piece of Z flashing at the top before setting the block in place and caulk the sides and bottom with Latex caulking.

Old 08-10-15, 03:51 PM
Group Moderator
Received 242 Votes on 223 Posts