Staining a Barn: Getting stain between siding boards

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-15, 11:03 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Staining a Barn: Getting stain between siding boards

Hello All!

New to the forum. I just stained my new garage. I used brushes. I see that the plywood behind the pine siding comes through (see picture). how would i remediate that? Do I need to get a sprayer?

Thanks!Name:  Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 12.05.36 PM.jpg
Views: 462
Size:  31.6 KB
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-15, 11:44 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,605
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
Welcome to the forums. So the pine is individual boards?
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-15, 11:46 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,524
Received 776 Votes on 716 Posts
The one time I had a similar problem was on fiber cement shingle siding on my folks house and I used a gravity air sprayer, but turned the volume way down and the air pressure up to force the paint into the cracks. Tedious, but worked well. I used a brush to touchup any overspray or excess paint.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-15, 01:03 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes. It is. We had originally ordered the boards pre-stained but the boards they delivered were messed up. we had to go with unstained pine.
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-15, 01:54 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,605
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
I think X gave you a good solution.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-15, 02:04 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,826
Received 360 Votes on 317 Posts
You don't have to spray it, using a 1"-1.5" roller cover you'd slop the paint on the siding letting it run into all the grooves and then as the cover gets low on paint - back roll to dress it up.
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-15, 02:15 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK. So start at the top with the roller (Im using Cabot stain) and let it all glop up and slide down as I move the roller down. Then dip it again and go up squeezing it in the groove.

Sounds good! Thank you everyone!
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-15, 02:22 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,826
Received 360 Votes on 317 Posts
Since you've already coated the majority of the wood you can thin the stain down a little so it will flow between the boards better.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: