Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Soffits installed on window brickmould


winnipegdl's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2

11-14-17, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)  
Soffits installed on window brickmould

I just had some soffit and fascia installed. Due to the height of some window, the j-trim for the soffits is installed over the window brickmould. Is this normal? It looks odd to us. Before the aluminum soffits were installed, the wood soffits were about 2" higher and so avoided the window brickmould.

Attached Images
       
 
Sponsored Links
Donato_'s Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 457

11-14-17, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)  
I wouldn't have expected it to cover part of the window molding either. It hinders access to the window, in case a replacement is needed.

 
marksr's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 41,982
TN

11-14-17, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)  
Have you asked your siding guy about it?


retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

 
XSleeper's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,368
NE

11-14-17, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)  
That's pretty normal when you are covering the old soffit with new aluminum. It's simply covering the brickmold by an additional 1/2". Nothing unusual about it. The soffit is almost always installed dead level.

 
winnipegdl's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2

11-14-17, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)  
Posted By: marksr Have you asked your siding guy about it?
We asked the installer and they said that this was pretty normal. Of course they don't want to have go back and change anything either. I just don't think I've ever noticed it on other houses.

One thing that could have been done to avoid this would have been to trim the bottom off the old fascia because it hung down about 2" from the fascia. The problem there would be that then the fascia width would be different than elsewhere on the house...

 
XSleeper's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,368
NE

11-14-17, 08:06 PM   #6 (permalink)  
That's true. And you can't really cut the fascia with a skilsaw unless you remove all the gutter.

 
Search this Thread