painting labor

Old 05-16-22, 10:37 AM
W
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
painting labor

What do you think is a reasonable price range to charge for painting per exterior surface area, if all supplies are provided by the owner? I know someone who wants a few odd things painted/stained and they want to pay by the job not the hour. That's fine with me but I need to come up with a price based on surface area I guess. I was a painter for a couple years but that was a long time ago

Old 05-16-22, 12:02 PM
Received 46 Votes on 40 Posts
You could figure how long to do each job then multiply by the hourly rate you want then give the total to the customer. As an example....it will take 1 hour to do 1 coat of paint on the wall multiply that by the total coats say 2. So now you see it takes 2 hours to do whole wall. You are worth say $25 per hour so the price given to the customer would be $50. Plug in the numbers you want as this is just an example. Don't forget to add time for sanding if needed and clean up time also.

worker9999 voted this post useful.
Old 05-16-22, 12:57 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 676 Votes on 598 Posts
Ya, that's for the most part how I bid individual jobs. I had a sq ft price for builders [volume] I always estimated how much time it would take me [x hourly rate] and then add 10-15% to cover anything I might have missed. Don't forget to add something for your travel time as well.

Old 05-16-22, 06:18 PM
W
so whats a reasonable man hours/area estimate for exterior? I saw one website that said 3 people could paint the exterior of a 2500 sq foot home in 1 day, which I found unrealistically fast

Old 05-17-22, 02:30 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator