question about textured walls

Old 04-03-06, 08:41 AM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question question about textured walls

i am new at faux painting .I'd like to try different faux techniques in different areas of my house and i 'd like to find out if the texture on the walls is limiting me as far as the type of technique i am going to use? I understand that glazing probably is not a good idea.
What about venetian plaster or fresco techniques or color washing?
The texture on my walls is not very big and is not done by hand.It looks the same everywhere around the house.
Please let me know,
Lana

Sponsored Links
Old 04-03-06, 09:08 AM
why wouldn't glaze be a good idea? i have found that the exisiting texture on a wall usually enhances a faux paint technique. color washing & glazing are about the same thing.

Venetian plaster isn't just a paint technique. you actually trowel on a plaster product, which will cover up & smooth out any texture you may now have.

Old 04-03-06, 10:13 AM
L
thank you!

Thank you very much for you reply!
I got this idea from reding various books on faux finishing,
I am glad to hear that i am not limited in trying different techniques...

Old 04-04-06, 05:54 AM
K
Several techniques, including venetian plaster, should not be done over textured walls. I'm guessing you have orange peel (all over bumpy texture). You can use a trowled on plaster effect, but a venetian effect starts with smooth walls. While it might be possible to apply enough plaster to get a smooth surface, that would require a whole lot of product--and the stuff isn't cheap. Simpler and more cost effective to apply a skim coat of joint compound first to get a smooth surface. Check out the other forums (walls and plastering, I think) for tips on how to skim coat.

Old 04-04-06, 05:34 PM
L
Thank you very much!

I also asked the same question at Aqua Finishing forum and they gave me a simular answer: