"Bagging" floor

Old 08-18-06, 02:03 PM
F
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Bagging" floor

I just tried a technique called "bagging" on a sample piece of plywood. The directions I used called for gluing on the torn pieces of brown paper with water based urethane. They wrinkled like crazy! I have seen pictures of finished walls and floors using this technique and they look great.

Anyone know of this technique and how to do it properly?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-18-06, 06:05 PM
N
"Bagging" it

http://www.bobvila.com/HowTo_Library/Faux_Paint_Finishes_Bagging-Decorative_Painting-A1651.html

Here's a link about how to bag. I don't understand what you are talking about with brown bags and such. This is the only type of bagging that I know, but I'm fairly new at this. It sounds like what you are talking about is a totally different type of bagging.

Nursekuba

Old 08-18-06, 06:54 PM
F
Brown Bagging

Thanks for your input. I checked out the link you suggested, and it is a faux painting technique. What I'm talking about is done with torn brown paper bags that are applied to walls or floors to make them look like leather or stone.

Anybody else know about this?

Old 08-18-06, 07:02 PM
N
Bagging it again

Here's a link to a tissue paper technique for that. I don't think brown paper bags would have the same effect.

http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/lr_walls/article/0,2041,DIY_14083_3190133,00.html

Nursekuba

Old 08-18-06, 07:07 PM
D
Like this?

http://lifestyle.msn.com/HomeandGarden/Home/ArticleIV3.aspx?cp-documentid=656439

Old 08-18-06, 07:08 PM
N
another technique

Here's another technique using brown paper:

http://www.trompe-l-oeil-art.com/faux-leather.html

Nursekuba

Old 08-18-06, 07:17 PM
F
Talking Brown Bagging

Yea! I found a version at DIYNetwork.com. I'll also check out the other links you both have suggested.

Thanks.

Old 08-21-06, 07:10 AM
K