Wood Fence METAL Poles - Please Help

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-04, 08:45 AM
brigont
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Wood Fence METAL Poles - Please Help

Hello all,

I was watching HGTV yesterday and noticed someone had installed a wood fence (6' privacy) on metal poles rather than using the wood poles. The fencing material was attached to the metal poles (ala your typical link fence) via some type of strapping.

I like the idea because it limits the contact between wood and earth.

Q1. Has anyone done this before and can provide advice for or against this approch

Q2. It appears that someone could strap the fence to the poles, place the assembled structure in the ground, pour the concrete, and then level/plumb the entire structure (using some blocks underneath the fence to level... Is this silly or a good way of setting the fence/poles into the concrete.

Q3. My fence will be about 20' straight with no side supports... any concerns about this approach?

thanks in advance for your help.

Brian
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-04, 09:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 9,238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I gave up setting wood posts in the ground years ago. They rot, and you are replacing the fence every 10 to 15 years. Metal posts work well. Simpson Strong Tie makes 2 different sizes of brackets (the "strapping" that you are referring to). Their PGT2 is for 2-3/8" O.D. pipe, and their PGT1.5 is for 1-7/8" O.D. pipe.

I would set the posts first, allow the concrete to set up for a day or so, THEN install the fence panels. It would be just my luck that a big wind would come up and blow the whole thing over if I tried installing the fence as a pre-assembled unit.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-04, 08:24 PM
cwillyrun
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Anymore, it is pretty rare that any new wood fence in our town is installed with wooden posts. Check out your local Home Depot or their website for the posts and brackets for such a set-up. It's really easy! Watch out for curious neighbors. Years ago, I was the first to put in such a fence in our neighborhood. I had a lot of neighbors ask what I was up to. I later found out they were all worried that I was putting in a large chain-link fence and getting some big dogs. Ha-ha-ha!
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-04, 10:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 9,238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
cwillyrun,

About the only ones putting up wood fences with wood posts around here anymore are the homeowners replacing what they had. The smart ones are using metal posts, and attaching the wood fence to that. The City has gone overboard with their requirements in the new subdivisions. Those posts have to be slump block columns, with wood panels in between, or the fence has to be totally masonary. I understand their logic, but oh, THE COST!!
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-08, 12:56 PM
Navonod420's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ojai by way of Redding
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how far apart

So how far apart do u put the posts and do you put the posts between the fence panels??
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-08, 05:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 9,238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Navonod420,

I don't use prebuilt fence panels, if that's what you're referring to.

I set the metal posts about 7-1/2' apart (or slightly less -- NEVER MORE!) and attach 16' rails to them.

Depends on what you want it to look like from the rail side.

You can let the rail run past the post at each end and start the next 16' rail above or below, or you can have the joint in the rail occur at the center of the post -- trim the end off of the rail.

Once the rails are in place, attach the fence boards.
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-08, 08:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 89
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lefty,

Why don't you use pre-built panels?

Also, why are they more inexpensive than the sum of their parts? The ones at Lowes have three rails per panel, and they don't look cheap - but I have no idea what I am talking about of course!
 
  #8  
Old 03-30-08, 08:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll chime in about the pre-fab. These are made with the lumber nobody would buy if they selected it personally from the stack. Your fence is only so good as the crummiest board. Of course if someone else assembles the parts you're going to pay more than just the material cost. And construction of these panels has been tweeked by economy of scale, such that they are made at the absolute minimum cost, naturally. On the other hand, a DIYer will spend a few extra bucks on better fasteners and more of them. A DIYer will buy a few extra boards, planning to reject a few bad boards.
 
  #9  
Old 03-31-08, 09:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 9,238
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
stormdog74,

Why don't I use pre-fabbed panels??

Let me count the reasons.

First, I have no control over the quality of the material. (That's been mentioned, and my customers don't want me slapping up whatever's CHEAP!)

Next, there's virtually no way to adjust for changes in the slope of the ground. If there's a 3" or 4" difference in the 8 ft. from one post to the next, I CAN adjust for that with a site made fence. Just TRY ITwith a pre-fabbed panel!!

Then, your post spacing has to be ABSOLUTELY perfect when you use panels. One rock the size of a bowling ball that's 12" underground is going to mess EVERYTHING up for you!
 
  #10  
Old 04-01-08, 04:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 89
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Kobuchi and Lefty - that makes a lot of sense.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: