Converting chain link to wood - questions

Old 09-05-06, 11:36 AM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

I've been browsing this forum and was surprised to learn that it's possible to convert a chain link fence to a wooden one by reusing the same posts, and that it's also possible to make a fence taller. I have an old 4" chain link fence surrounding my back yard, and my neighbors apparently think it's just fine to pile yard waste and/or build their dog lot right against my fence. Lawn clippings on one side, giant dogs and their excrement on the other. Nice view. So I'd like a privacy fence -- the taller, the better.

So here's my question -- how do I know if my old chain link fence posts are stable enough to support the extra weight of wooden slats and/or a lengthening sleeve? I did an informal "wiggle" test and the posts move a bit... that's probably bad, right? Should I dig around them and see if I hit cement?

I am new at this so any thoughts are appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Emily

Old 09-05-06, 08:55 PM
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
..Off the top of my head Im thinking...IF they only wiggle a 'little', they still may be rigid enough to support your wooden fence..and may even tighten things up some, since the wood wont 'flex' as much as the chain link will/does....!
Id attach 2x4's horizontally to the posts using those 'U' bolts/clamps, (the diameter of your posts) and then attach your 2x6 (or whatever) planks to the 2x4's vertically....
Seems like a good idea....
(I was thinking of doing the same by attaching the horizontal 2x4's to the tree trunks of our hedge after trimming off all the branches....'coz I know its going to be a real PAIN to dig holes where I want the fence to go...)

Old 09-05-06, 09:06 PM
T
Check with your local building inspector's office to see if there are any height restrictions for your fence. Many areas have height restrictions. Some require permits.

Old 09-06-06, 08:43 PM
N
Thanks