Anchoring gate post on concrete

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-07, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Anchoring gate post on concrete

We are putting a 5' high dog run at the house we just bought. I have all the posts, chain link, etc. and have done this before on grass. This one, however, will have a 4' gate on the concrete patio slab. My wife doesn't want the gate in the grass so we won't have to leave the concrete to get from one side of the patio to the other.

I think I can put the hinge post off the patio, but how can I anchor the latch post? I haven't been able to find anything to anchor it and hate to try punching a hole in the concrete.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-07, 04:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try going to a fence store to see if the make a flange that can be attacked to the bottom or a welding shop that can make you one and weld the pole to it. Then anchor the flange with lag bolts or wedge bolts. The other option is to see if you can rent a core drill with a masony core bit. They come in different sizes. Core drill out the concrete, remove dirt to the depth you need, refill the hole with concrete, plumb the pole at the desired depth and distance for the latches to work.
 
  #3  
Old 10-10-07, 05:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll see about the core drill as that seems the best solution. I was told that the fence posts were too light to weld properly. I got them from Lowe's.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-07, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Somewhere, someone must have a reasonably priced bracket that could be Tapcon screwed to the concrete and the fence post slipped either over or in it. So far I haven't found it.
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-07, 12:12 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,827
Received 33 Votes on 26 Posts
I would think you could use a pipe flange anchored to the slab and iron pipe for the post like what's here:

http://architecturaliron.com/piperailindex.htm

or here:

http://www.afence.com/handrail_.htm
http://www.juliusblum.com/prodsec03.html

And here's an interesting page with a how-to:

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-...mple-Handrail/

Here's the flange they used:

http://www.simplifiedbuilding.com/pr...roducts_id=270
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-07, 06:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

I bought my fence from a fencing store , Heavier gauge. I also had the make a 2 "T"clothes line poles that have been welded in the ground for at least 10 years.Those stores might sell fence at 12 1/2 gauge my fence is 9 gauge. Check with a fencing dealer if you want the flange method.
 
  #7  
Old 10-11-07, 06:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
See if the fencing store has it in galvanized flanged not iron.
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-07, 01:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,569
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Flanges

If a flange is used, holes must be drilled to secure the flange to the concrete. Why not drill and remove enough concrete to set the post in concrete? Would be much more secure than using a flange. Good luck with your project.
 
  #9  
Old 10-12-07, 01:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Wirepuller38 View Post
If a flange is used, holes must be drilled to secure the flange to the concrete. Why not drill and remove enough concrete to set the post in concrete? Would be much more secure than using a flange. Good luck with your project.
You're right. but rental on a core drill & bit is $150 and i just have to drill one hole.
 
  #10  
Old 10-13-07, 07:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,569
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Hole

Is a core drill really necessary? Could you drill a series of smaller holes with a masonry bit and hammer drill? Just a thought. I always look for the cheapest route first. Good luck with your project.
 
  #11  
Old 10-13-07, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I might be home free, and I do mean free. My son has a contractor friend with all the drills I need and even offered to do the drilling.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: