Replacing a fence

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-21-08, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing a fence

I am going to have to replace my side fence, which is set on top of a double brick wall approx 4 feet high. The 8-foot posts are sunk approx 2 feet down between the inner and outer walls. The posts are rotten and rather than dig them out, I am considering cutting them down to just below the top of the wall and then capping them with headers. I would then site the new posts about 1 foot to side of the original posts. Fixing the new posts seems relatively straightforward but I would welcome any advice you can provide. Many thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-21-08, 02:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would take the old posts out, using a sledge hammer,and a crow bar, or rent a small jackhammer from Home Depot.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-08, 03:06 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gage Mc,

I don't think the poster wants to take down this brick wall in the process.

He just needs to cut them flush with the top of the wall and start on either side, which he intends too.

Briwat,

You are on the right track, but I got no tips for you. Hang in there, and one of our fencing guru's will chime in.
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-08, 03:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ohh, i didnt under stand your question, sorry. If you use a sallzall withe a long blade, you should be adle to cut them flush.
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-08, 04:40 PM
GregsFence's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Union County NJ
Posts: 429
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It seems that you already have a good head of steam on how you are planning to remove and install your new fence. The idea of cutting the old posts short and putting a header on them.... Well , I guess you are looking for a particular look in the end . Perhaps that header is something you need... Perhaps not.
In the case where you have no specific need to have a header, I would suggest like one of the other posters ..Just use a long sawsall blade and cut the posts flush with the block.
I think cutting the posts flush with the block and reinstalling a new post in a different location would be a good way to go.

I hope it works out the way you planned.

Good Luck !

Greg~
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: