Fencing around a storm drain

Old 09-09-08, 08:57 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fencing around a storm drain

Let me see if I can describe my situation and see if anyone can offer suggestions... As an engineer, I have an idea but maybe it's crazy...

I've built my fence, and I've been tasked by my homeowner's situation with making it look more "professional".

I think I know what to do for the most part, it's basicly a solid board wood fence style with a cap rail, I had constructed it originally following the contour of the land along the top, the complaint is that it looks uneven and from north to south, the property line slopes downhill a few inches every 6 feet (6 foot post spacing) then goes down a little more than a foot per 6 feet over about 12 feet, then it's level for the last 6 feet. By stepping the top rail, it looks a lot better.

That's not the problem though... The problem is that one post which is right next to the bottom corner is out of line with the others. This was necessary because right where the post needs to be, there lies the concrete for the storm drain. I'm pretty sure I don't want to bust through any of that concrete, but it means I need to know what the best way to handle it is.

Every option I can think of seems to have its drawbacks... Do I maintain the fence in a straight line and keep the step where the post is now, but move the post "up-hill" so the post is not at the same point the step is? Or would it look better to step the fence in to my yard further so it goes around the drain?

I'm assuming I move the fence up-hill, but I'd like to keep the step spacing the same so it looks similar on both sides of the yard and I don't have a short step next to a long step... I'm also assuming if I do this, I'll want to add diagonal bracing to keep the longer section from sagging where the step in the middle might mean it's weaker.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-09-08, 09:44 AM
Temporarily Suspended