Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Fences, Posts, Railings and Gates
Reload this Page >

Help with fence footings (do I really need that much concrete?)

Old 05-16-13, 09:01 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi. First time poster here but I've been doing DIY of all sorts for about 15 years now.

I am currently making a privacy fence to make the hot tub in the backyard more secluded. The section of fence is just to cover a corner, so it's an L shape. One side is about 7 feet long, the other side is about 3 feet. The fence, above ground, will be something like 7.5 feet tall. There are three 4x4 posts supporting it. I've never set posts for a fence before (though I've done deck footings and set mailboxes in the past) and I want to do this right. From what I gather I should:

Have the post underground be 1/2 the height of the fence above ground. That would mean 7.5 feet above ground so 3 feet, 8 inches underground.

Have the hole be 12 inches in diameter since I'm using 4x4 pressure treated posts.

Have 6 inches of pea gravel in the bottom of the hole, then set the post, put in another inch of pea gravel around the post, then fill the hole with concrete.

Slope the top of the concrete away from the posts. And have the hole slope outwards, so that it's a bit wider at the bottom than at the top.

Do I seem to have the right idea? But here's my question. This would seem as though it's going to take over 1000 lbs. of concrete for the three holes. So we're talking about 350 lbs. per hole? Doesn't that seem a bit excessive? I understand about mechanics and leverage, and with a tall heavy wooden fence it needs a solid base. But that just seems like a lot of concrete so I thought I would ask.