Stain Wood Fence

Old 08-12-20, 07:37 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Stain Wood Fence

I am getting a wooden fence installed on the sides and backyard. I would like to pretreat it or stain the wood after it is put up. I am doing this to protect the wood against weather and make it last longer.

I have never done this before so I am looking at the best way to do it and the cost effective way as well. I am not sure what I need to stain the wood.

Do I spray or paint the fence? Perhaps it doesn't matter.

What type of wood staining product do I buy?

Thanks.

Old 08-12-20, 07:44 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 724 Upvotes on 634 Posts
What type of wood fence? stockade? shadowbox? Pressure treated wood? cedar? something else?
Often the most efficient way to paint a fence is spray and back roll but many are painted with just a brush and roller.

Old 08-12-20, 08:21 AM
Received 649 Upvotes on 574 Posts
As far as applying the stain I prefer roller and brush. A spray will tend to just sit on the surface. Roll it on then work it in with a brush.
I've use Thompson's water proofing stain. Flood's is another. All are typical and considered mid range quality. I found the Thompson's to hold up quite well for my application. I have all day intense sun beating on the fence and the color is holding up very well. However, the cross arms are not. They seem to have faded and need ne w stain. I think the type of wood is the makes all the difference.

Old 08-12-20, 12:11 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 724 Upvotes on 634 Posts
Just to clarify, any stain/paint that is sprayed onto wood should be back brushed/rolled to work the coating into the grain. That makes for a longer lasting and often better looking paint job.

Nothing wrong with brush and roll other than it takes longer.

Old 08-13-20, 06:51 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Thanks for the responses. I believe it is stockade fence. Most likely I will use a brush and roll it on. Does Home Depot carry Thompson brand?