NEED HELP!!! Completing a Fireplace

Old 11-05-02, 06:59 AM
jatra
Visiting Guest
Question NEED HELP!!! Completing a Fireplace

I need some guidance on how to finish off a fireplace that was apparently contructed for an insert instead of for burning wood. Here's the situation: It's a typical brick fireplace against the wall in the family room that contains an insert for burning wood pellets. The insert is operated by an electrical blower and damper adjuster to regulate the size of the fire and the amount of heat to be circulated. When I looked behind the insert, I noticed that there was no brick or concrete to support the burning of wood.

My plan is to remove the insert and build up the inside of the fireplace so that I can burn wood. I need some advice on the easiest way to accomplish this. Should I use brick or concrete? What preparation needs to be done prior to laying the brick or concrete? I'm a novice at this and need all the help I can get. THANKS.

Old 11-05-02, 09:16 AM
pmgca
Visiting Guest
Fireplace

Hi,

I need some information to give you an accurate advice: this "electrical fireplace" has a chimney? If affirmative, are you sure that it has the right dimensions for burning wood?

Best,

Old 11-13-02, 08:39 AM
jatra
Visiting Guest
The fireplace definitely has a chimney. I'm not quite sure what you mean by "the right dimensions for burning wood". Let me say that the opening of the fireplace where the wood would be placed is 40 inches across and 32 inches deep. I'm not certain of the size of the actual chimney area.

The area inside the fireplace opening is wider than 40 inches and easily allows for the construction of brick or other material. It currently is comprised of some type of ply wood or peg board.