Build a new fireplace for an Insert


  #1  
Old 01-09-04, 12:53 PM
fireweedfour
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Build a new fireplace for an Insert

I'd like to build a firepace for an insert in my livingroom.

Presently there is a open fireplace in the basement with the standard brick surround. It is a "gas assist" fireplace with a Selkirk Metalbestos 7" chimney.

I would like to build the livingroom fireplace and install a Osburn 2200 insert. Then attach the fireplace to the existing chimney and maintain the same hardly used fireplace in the basement.

Is this safe? Is it practical?

Any and all help is appreciated.

Rob
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-04, 11:37 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
fireplace

Id check code there . Each fireplace has to have its own flue. ED
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-04, 08:00 PM
fireweedfour
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I've found this site that seems to answer all the normal questions. I have seen another one that shows many heat sources hooked up to one chimney. I can't recall what sources they were though

http://www.securitychimneys.com/PDF/.../inst_ASHT.pdf

Rob
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-04, 02:56 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Lightbulb vent flue

Id sure check code there. I think if you look Like when we run a B gas vent as we go along and add another unit we have to kick up the size of the vent pipe each time. ED
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-04, 05:32 PM
fireweedfour
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Will do Ed. I'll check with the town about the chimney and the rest of the install.

Thanks

Rob
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: