spreading wood stove heat

Old 10-15-04, 07:32 PM
Dorf
Visiting Guest
Question spreading wood stove heat

I have a freestanding wood stove in my living room on one side of the house (one story, no basement, has crawlspace). Does anyone have any ideas for moving the heat to the other side of the house. I know a boiler would do it, but don't have one, and not really wanting to invest for just for my stove. Maybe some kind of vent or air duct that can run under the house. You are welcome to respond to tell me if I'm barking up the wrong tree.

Old 10-16-04, 09:39 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, you need to circulate the air, possibly through the prudent use of ceiling fans.However, you may never be able to overcome the ongoing battle of sufficient insulation and draft stopping, without providing another heat source,. Even if it is another of the same appliance.

Old 10-22-04, 11:42 AM
I am by no means a professional so dont take this as professional advice.

What I would do in this situation is run some kind of insulated ducting as you suggested and have it end up near (behind) the wood stove where it is nice and warm. I would put a fan in the duct at the end near wood stove so it suck the hot air and blows it out the other side.

This wont provide the best of heat but it will help move the heat around the house. It can also be done as many times as you like so you could have 2 lines for 2 different rooms.

What I would suggest for ducting depending on how much air to move to keep it warm is a 6 inch flexable insulated duct running in the crawl space and a "muffin fan". The fan is just like the one inside of a computer case except bigger and more powerful, generally used in industrial applications, it runs on 120 volts so it can be hooked up to your regular house power.

Old 10-22-04, 01:09 PM
Super Moderator
Received 53 Votes on 49 Posts
Dorf,

There is no simple way to properly distribute the heat from a woodstove in a home.