Fireplace bricks which

Old 03-19-08, 09:10 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fireplace bricks which

Hello chaps
New here so bear with me, my question is what type of bricks can I use to build a fireplace, the fire place I have in use at the moment is the fabricated concrete slab type with tiles set onto it, I plan to remove this and build something better looking, but not being a builder I have no knowledge of what type of brick or mix I should use.

Old 03-19-08, 09:32 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
firebrick & fire-resistant,,,

mortar ( refractory ),,, if you remove the tiles, you may find it already in place if its a working f/p,,, most bldrs don't know either - that's why the sub to a mason w/experience

Old 03-19-08, 10:38 AM
I donít think I made my self clear; the fireplace has a prefabricated hearth and mantle made up from concrete which has then had tiles fixed to it before installation, the hearth is then fixed to the floor by means of brackets so is the mantle fixed to the wall

Old 03-19-08, 12:04 PM
Hi 1st Gunny,

If you are going to replace anything inside the fireplace, you need fire brick and fire resistant mortar. (like so-elite says) You can't get these products at the big box stores, you need to go to a brick yard.

If you are only re-doing the outside of the fireplace, your choice of materials can be anything you choose...brick, tile stone, etc.

If you have a specific question, we'll be glad to help you. In your post, you said you wanted to build a fireplace... Did you mean you want to re-face the fireplace?

If you can, please post photos either to Picasa or photobucket, and put a link here, so we can see what you see.

Thanks so much!

Connie

Old 03-20-08, 02:18 AM
Originally Posted by connie View Post
Hi 1st Gunny,

If you are going to replace anything inside the fireplace, you need fire brick and fire resistant mortar. (like so-elite says) You can't get these products at the big box stores, you need to go to a brick yard.