Fireplace clean but not able to use anymore?!

Old 10-09-00, 04:04 PM
Visiting Guest
Question

About a month ago we had the chimney of our 1911 home swept by a professional cleaning service, his advice (after having paid him for the sweeping of course):"you can't use this fireplace any more". Supposedly the mortar lining (?) was virtually non-existing and half a brick came falling down during the sweeping efforts. According to the sweeper we shouldn't use the fireplace any more 'cause we'd be risking flying bricks and fire (sounded a tad extreme to me, especially since when we bought the house the inspector didn't say anything about this last January). Please give me a hand on the following questions:
1) can i still use the fireplace risk free
2) what is the best (and cheapest) way to repair this problem

Thank you all in advance

Old 10-10-00, 04:44 AM
Visiting Guest
I am not a fire expert or a chimney expert, however:

You would risk a house fire if the mortar is in that bad of shape. Do a little research on the web and you'll come to the same conclusion. A friend of mine experienced the same thing and he filed a claim with his homeowners insurance. Look into doing that. I don't think you'll have any luck going after the inspector because there are so many disclaimers in the contracts you sign with them. Call some masons and ask them what's involved in a repair like this. Good luck.

Old 10-10-00, 01:09 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
quote:<HR>Originally posted by rdaalen: