Flue for an oil furnace


  #1  
Old 07-15-12, 05:35 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flue for an oil furnace

My oil furnace vents through a masonry chimney. The bricks are spalling and the sweep says the clay liner has cracks. I am going to tear down to the roof line and rebuild the brick. I am planning on putting a flexible steel liner from the furnace, through the entire length of the chimney.

Do I need to have a clay liner in the section I am replacing? Even though its an oil furnace, I am thinking I will insulating the section of the steel liner above the last section of clay I am removing because we have cold winters here in northern NY. Will that be enough or do I need a clay flue also? Will the liner and insulation fit in side the clay flue?

Clay is cheaper than that liner insulation, If I do the clay, do I need to insulate the liner?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 07-15-12, 09:06 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! It may be a bit before our chimney pros chime in, but here's a comment. Not sure why you want to insulate the chimney all the way up. A proper cap will provide a stopping point for cold air. I would not think you need another clay liner if you are using an approved steel liner for the full length. Hang in there, as more comments, probably better than mine, are coming.
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-12, 05:41 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Chandler. I thought insulating the liner would help prevent condensation. If it were just the steel liner and the brick, it could get pretty cold. Its not uncommon for us to get many nights of -20F and a few nights of -30F to -40F.
 
  #4  
Old 07-16-12, 12:11 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did some searching and found an answer from Chimney Liner Depot .com's FAQ:

Q. What if my chimney doesnít have an old clay lining?

As long as you have a masonry chimney you can install a Flex King Chimney Liner. There doesnít have to be an old clay lining in the chimney. If there isnít a clay lining in the chimney then you definitely need to install a stainless steel liner.

Still would like to know if clay tile would provide any/enough insulation so that I don't need to insulate the liner.
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-12, 01:04 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
The clay liner offers no insulative effect but it may, depending somewhat on how the chimney is constructed, add thermal mass once it is heated.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: