Convert gas fireplace into switch-start fireplace?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-11-12, 06:47 PM
BigTime's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Convert gas fireplace into switch-start fireplace?

Right now I have a gas fireplace and I haven't even used it but once because it's kind of hard to start. Tried once last year but it didnt get going.

So, I am renovating the area, and instead of just buying a whole new fireplace, I wanted to know if you can somehow change the starting mechanism to the fireplace?

I would really just like to be able to push a button or flip some kind of switch to start it.

Thanks for the help!

(In the picture below, on the left hand side is a silver circle area where you insert a type of key to start the fireplace.)
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-11-12, 07:07 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
How old is this puppy? Do you have to light a pilot light? Is it direct on and off (dangerous). Obviously it has no remote control feature, right?
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 06:21 PM
BigTime's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post

Thank you for replying chandler.

How old is this puppy? By all accounts it should be, and seems to be original to the house, built in 1994. What is their typical lifespan?

Do you have to light a pilot light? Yes

Is it direct on and off (dangerous). What? Not sure what you mean but you do have to turn the gas on or off with turn-dial

Obviously it has no remote control feature, right? Correct, there is no remote
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-12, 10:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,636
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
That round silver thing is called a Dante Valve. It's used to shut off the gas for servicing. That unit looks real familiar. Does it have the door underneath that swings down ? There is a knob that says: OFF - PILOT - ON ?? Is that same knob how you turn it on or is there a second knob ?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: