Fireplace insert install

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-26-14, 10:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fireplace insert install

Hello,

I have an fireplace insert I purchased off of craigslist, and the previous owner included the stainless steel liner, plus a bunch of stove pipe. I am installing into an existing brick chimney. I believe the previous owner also had a brick chimney this was installed in. I don't plan on doing the install myself, so maybe this is the wrong website to be on, but...

I had a contractor over to give me a quote for install, and he said that the stove pipe was unnecessary in a brick chimney - that only the stainless steel liner was necessary.

Who is right? What is the purpose of ever installing the liner inside the stove pipe?

Thanks!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-01-14, 11:22 AM
Mark_MS's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What brand fireplace insert is it?? You can find the manual for most brands via google the manual will state exactly what is required. A liner only does not sound right to me.
I have stainless going up my chimney 3 inch, most stoves require 3 inch or 4 inch depending on height needed to clear chimney and altitude.
 

Last edited by Mark_MS; 09-01-14 at 11:26 AM. Reason: clarity
  #3  
Old 09-01-14, 11:31 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
I replied to this on 8/27/14 at 1:44AM but the post is missing ?

What does the installation manual for the insert recommend ?
If you don't have that information - post the make and model and we could check on it.

Basically an echo of Mark's. Thanks for posting Mark

My insert uses a 4" concentric stainless stovepipe that goes thru the brick chimney to a cap up top.
 
  #4  
Old 09-01-14, 12:59 PM
Mark_MS's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't delete your post!!
 
  #5  
Old 09-01-14, 01:03 PM
Mark_MS's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It occurred to me that I am quoting pipe dimensions for a pellet stove insert and not a wood insert, which requires a minimum of 6 inch pipe.
If OP would tell us what he has would be great!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: