Stopping down the air inlet on my wood stove?

Old 11-04-16, 12:32 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stopping down the air inlet on my wood stove?

I have a Napoleon wood stove. It produces a lot of heat, even with the air inlet stopped down all the way. Except on really cold days, it just makes the house too hot, so we rarely use it. There is a big glass door and the flames are pretty; we would like to use it more.

It would be easy enough to stop it down further, but the manufacturer says it will then violate EPA regulations. We are in the middle of nowhere, I can't see that a little more pollution is going to hurt anything; but I surely don't want to coat the inside of the chimney pipe with something that will catch on fire.

Any advice for me about this dilemma?

Old 11-04-16, 12:36 PM
Received 341 Votes on 307 Posts
OK, I have no experience in this type of thing and I'm responding more for the opportunity to learn. So my comment is...will using less wood or fuel make a difference? Is there no damper or flue type baffle that can be adjusted to let out more heat through the stack?

Old 11-04-16, 01:03 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
A slower burn will put out less heat but create more creosote/soot. Letting the fire all but go out before you add wood should also help. I clean my chimney flue every month during the winter.

Old 11-04-16, 01:16 PM
T
You clean it monthly? Do you generally have a fire going all the time?

I have had maybe 6 fires in 4 years; the previous owner was never here in the winter, so I doubt he has any in his 6 years. I am hoping that is not enough usage to require a cleaning.
At my old house I had maybe 10 fires a year in the fireplace and cleaned it every 10 years. They never commented about it being particularly dirty.

Old 11-04-16, 01:42 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
A lot depends on the weather but I prefer to heat with wood ... my wife prefers the heat pump