New Gas log.. don't let me burn down my home!!!!

Old 12-16-16, 06:25 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New Gas log.. don't let me burn down my home!!!!

Wife insisted on a gas log this Winter so I picked up a Duluth vent free unit that has very good reviews and seems to be a nice product for the price. I have a few questions I need answered as I am new to this and want to make sure I don't burn down my home.

1. My pilot light is 2.5-3" tall. Is this normal? (Manual shows a pic of how the flame should look) This has been Answered!

2. Can a pilot light be left on 24/7 all year around safely?

3. My install kit came with a shut off valve but I have one on the wall at that location. This shutoff valve makes my fire logs sit a couple inches to the right and not center. I would prefer not to have 2 shutoff valves if that is ok?

4. Mine is a vent free unit but I lifted the vent because the mantle above the fire place became very warm. Maybe it's ok for it to get warm? (Manual answers this question and says it is common for these places to become very warm) This has been Answered!

5. It came with a plastic box that is the remote control box. No where in the instructions does it tell you what to do with it! So I stuck it as far as I could to the right and covered the wire and part of the box with lava rocks to try and keep some heat away from it. With the Vent open it does not appear to heat up at all. I have not tried it with the vent closed. Did I do this correctly?

6. It mentions with Natural Gas to measure and make sure it's not above 9"WC. It says damage can occur. Then it goes on to say there is a safety feature that will not let it light if above 9"WC. So am I to believe after hooking it up that if it lights it should be fine and below 9"WC? The unit seems to be working fine.