Attaching Dry wall to i-beams

Old 05-20-04, 07:35 PM
timgeorge
Visiting Guest
Attaching Dry wall to i-beams

In my office we need to extend the dry wall up from the drop ceiling line to the top of the metal roof, about 45" above. The challenge is that other than the structural steel i-beams that run perpendicular to the wall, there are no other nailing strips or beams. Because we're going into 3/8 steel, I assume using metal screws is out of the question.

At Lowes is was recommended that we attach metal studs to the i-beam using a .22 caliber impact nail gun, then attach metal studs perpendicular to those with screws, running from the edge of the drop ceiling up to the roof. We would then screw the dry wall to these 45" studs.

If I've described the problem with enough detail, does this sound like a viable solution? Is there a better way to skin this cat? I've installed wood stud walls and hung tons of drywall, but this is my first attempt with steel beams and studs.

We're going to attempt this install over the week-end so a quick reply would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Old 05-20-04, 10:09 PM
Hi Tim,

Sounds like for once Lowe's handed out some good advice, hard to believe! Yeah that's pretty much how I would do this project.

For this application, I'd run my vertical studs at 24" centers and use 8' sheets. For a couple of reasons, you can get two cuts out of each board & the stuff will be easier to handle up there if you run them vertically, with the 24" centered framing, you'll only have to rip maybe one piece at the most per wall.