2x4 Load Bearing Wall or 2x6?

Old 09-16-04, 09:34 AM
dsai
Visiting Guest
2x4 Load Bearing Wall or 2x6?

To anyone that can healp. I am adding a second story to my Cape Cod style home and an issue came up between my Architect and GC.

Currently there are 2x8 joists for the second floor which the architect speced sistering 2x10s to. There are no planned changes to the load bearing wall on the first floor which runns down themiddle of thehousemade up of 2x4s 16" oc.

The GC expressed concern that the wall was bearing a lot of weight and we should do something to strengthen it but the Architect felt the standard 2x4 construction would be fine.

I appreciate any help on this.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-04, 10:14 AM
Scraper4
Visiting Guest
Well, not being a professional myself....

I'd tend to lean towards the GC's opinion. He's probably the one with better "hands-on" experience in this matter.

Overall, unless there's significant plumbing/electrical/HVAC running through the wall in questions, it shouldn't cost too much to sister some additional 2x4's next to the current ones. A solution which "may" satisfy both the GC and Architect

I'd rather spend a little money and time now to avoid disasterous problems later.

Good luck with the addition!!

Old 09-16-04, 10:18 AM
Red face

We do all the time with 2X4 studs make sure you have fire stops in about the middle of them. This helps as a brace.

ED

Old 09-16-04, 10:24 AM
I would get a second opinion. Have a Civil Professional Engineer come in ask him to calculate the load on that wall and can the 2x4's handle it. If I were you I would not mention the Architect/GC conflict this may or may not bias the P.E. He will be removed from the current situation and has knowledge and the pedigree (legalities and is tested and liscensed) to make this kind of call.

hope this helps,
mechrus

Old 09-16-04, 10:59 AM
Kind of depends