wood beam drop ceiling

Old 02-21-05, 10:24 AM
inafix
Visiting Guest
wood beam drop ceiling

Hi - I am thinking of building a 'fake wood beam' drop ceiling where I suspend 4x6 beams from the ceiling joists and place tile drop-in style between these new fake beams. A diaggram and photos of the existing joists are viewable at http://factory-hollow.com/diy-walls.bhtml

I am worried about the final look, but more importantly whether or not the weight of the new suspended beams will be too much for the structure. any advice or experience on this is appreciated!!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 02-23-05, 04:07 PM
inafix
Visiting Guest
noone?

Is this the wrong place for such a question? My wife is getting pretty upset, as the kitchen is a wreck! Can anyone comment on the additional load? Please - thanks.

Old 02-24-05, 07:07 AM
I am no expert but it seems that the method you propose couldn't be much heavier than 5/8 sheetrock attached to those joists.

You need to get those wire junctions back in the box and get a cover on them before installing a ceiling.

Old 02-24-05, 10:34 AM
I agree that the load you would impose is distributed and less then drywall.

Have you considered spacing the fake beams futher apart.

Scott

One other thing, I like your web site. Nice ideas there.

Old 02-27-05, 07:28 PM
inafix
Visiting Guest
beams are so heavy

Thanks guys - I went to buy 4x6 beams, and they are really, really heavy. It makes we want to triple check that I can just screw these into the bottoms of our scabbed up ceiling joists without worrying about the structural integretry. We'll need to put up about 10 of these 15' 4x6 beams, and it just seems like a lot. Please let me know if you were considering this much weight! Thanks a lot.

Old 02-28-05, 06:55 PM