need post or frame minimum tolerances

Old 03-18-05, 10:41 PM
Jimco4352
Visiting Guest
Question need post or frame minimum tolerances

Hello-
I am building a 16'x20' addition on the back of my home, i am doing some building assuming my plans will be approved, i have put down 1' wide x 2' tall footings around the perimeter and i want to design the lower level to hold a room above it. i am trying my best to have the lower room framed around the perimeter only. no posts in the (middle area of the lower room), my question is: would it be better to run my beams the 16' away from the existing building direction with 5 - 4x10x (at least 16 feet long?) and would this be sufficient for most building codes? i also am trying to decide if framing a wall below the supporting beams will be stronger than using posts and shearing them.
any help is greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-19-05, 07:33 AM
As I read it, you want to run 5, 4"x10"x16' beams, 4' apart for 20'.

I'm no expert, but I'd say that wouldn't be enough. Even if you filled in the 4' with 2x10's, a 2x10 can't span 16' unsupported.

I'd look into the laminated I beams, you can span a good distance with those, and you can even get them with knockouts for electrical and plumbing.

Old 03-19-05, 08:06 AM
Originally Posted by Jimco4352
Hello-