Wall Collapsing. PLEASE HELP!!!

Old 07-26-05, 01:48 AM
mjm1979
Visiting Guest
Wall Collapsing. PLEASE HELP!!!

I bought my first home about 1 year ago. Since then I have undertaken a number of projects with good results. A few friends offered to help me remodel my very rundown bathroom. We knew there was something wrong due to the fact that a shower surround had been placed over a brand new replacement window so as to render it useless. Well, apon removing the surround and gutting the entire bathroom to the studs it became clear that the outside wall of the bathroom is leaning away from the house about 3 inches or so. The top plate of the wall is split and the wall appears to be pulling away from the interior walls-cracking the plaster in the two adjacent bedrooms. (something which I missed as did the home inspector). I am fairly new to the do it yourself game and fixing this sort of problem is beyond my knowledge. I am scared to death that the wall is actually just going to fall over into my yard. Could somebody give me some advice on how to bring the wall back into line, or at the very least securing it so it does not move any farther?

Will attempting to pull the wall back into place do more harm than good? I am not concerned about cracked plaster and what not-as that damage has already been done. Your prompt help would be greatly appreciated...I cant even sleep thinking about that wall!!

Old 07-26-05, 06:16 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Walls do not start leaning away from the house on their own. This is probably a roof problem with a wall symptom (first choice) or a foundation problem with a wall symptom (less likely).

Here's how all houses are built - foundation - walls - roof, in that order. The walls carry the weight of the roof structure. That weight consists of two forces - vertically down and horizontally away from the center of the house.