general framing question

Old 06-15-06, 08:34 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
general framing question

first off, forgive my ignorance and terminology. I am an AMATEUR at this (I can cut wood and hammer nails but framing is not one of my lessons learned). I am posting the same question on several different forums to get a different opinions.

when framing using 16" stud spacing, is that 16" from the outside corner of the house to outside corner? and then additional studs are put 3.5" in from the corner to give a nailing surface for drywall for the interior?

I'm trying to figure out the dimensions for my shop. I'm thinking 30'x50' right now but I dont want to mess up the sizing so I get odd spacing when putting in the roof panels which are 4x8. I want to make sure the lines on the boards line up with the rafters or stud. I want to make sure I am sizing this shop to be compatible with standard lumber.

So will I mess up if its 30x50 or does it need to be 28x48 or does it matter (i.e. Can I just scab stuff in to make it all fit)?

I am going to dig the footing for the slab today and I dont want to find out 2 months later that I totally messed up right at the start.

Old 06-15-06, 08:55 AM
B
A structure is never limited by lumber size only in building methods used. Stud spacing is the least of your worries but ideally you want to gauge your center so an 4' or 8' sheet of rock will break right in the middle of a stud. That is by far the easy part. The more advanced part is going to be setting your ridge and cutting rafters for your project. I am assuming a simple gable roof here but still takes a little knowhow. I seriously recommend getting one, a detailed set of plans for your project and two hire someone experienced in residetial framing to help you with it. Such a project would be near impossible to do all by yourself anyway and I think you are going to need a little hands on guidance.

Old 06-15-06, 09:02 AM
W
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts