load capacity of beam


  #1  
Old 09-26-06, 02:45 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb load capacity of beam

Hello,

I have a 14 foot beam made up of 4 - 2x10's (Fir) nailed together supporting a two story home. This beam is in the basement supported by three posts. One at either end and a third telepost(Lally) located 4 feet from one end. Posts are sitting on 2x2 footings that are in the slab. I want the middle post removed so that the span will be the full 14 feet supported by the two posts at each end. Can someone tell me what the present beam, (4 - 2x10) has for a load capacity and what size and type of beam could match the capacity to repalce it.


John
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-06, 03:41 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Great Barrington MA
Posts: 532
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can't get a good picture of the project but I imagine you want Lam beams. they are specially treated plywood members that are as strong as they come for wood, made to bare load. your specific need I wouldn't hazard a guess to But you could probably temp jack it on either side and replace the exisiting 2" X10"s with the same size Lam beams and even with the one column missing it would probably be stronger then before. You should get an engineer out to tell you exactually what you should do before you take on modifying such a vital support structure.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-06, 05:17 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Thanks for the info buildpro. To help you with the picture and potentially others here is what I see. One beam made up of four 2x10's, 14 feet long. I see three teleposts one on each end one 4 feet in from one end - The entire structure is visible. The joists on top are 16" OC.

John
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-06, 05:22 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Great Barrington MA
Posts: 532
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do the ends of the beam sit on top of the foundation or are they fully supported by the jack stands?
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-06, 05:52 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

The beam is fully supported by three jack posts


John
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-06, 07:10 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,130
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
load capacity of beam

Bottom line is that you need an engineer to look at the loads that will be on the new beam. He will then determine what you need in terms of depth and width based on stresses and deflection. Even with the the same stresses, you will have more deflection in the center than you had before, but this may not be big factor.

You probably should check the thickness of the footings, since you are removing the post that is carrying the most weight of the three existing posts.

Dick
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-06, 08:16 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question

Seems like a strange case?? I know that the designer of the house knew the stresses you speak about? I know that there are many different types of beams available to choose from. I know that it is generally a choice of cost when it comes right down to it. The beam that is there is not complicated, and was most likely chosen as it was the least expensive. Based on the measurements I have provided there should be a specific load that it was designed for. What is its max? I am looking for the equivalent beam that will do a 14 foot span. If all the answers come from a pro is there a pro out there?


john
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-06, 08:29 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Great Barrington MA
Posts: 532
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The problem is that no one here can give you exact stress variences without actually looking at it. It would be irrresposible to give advice on something that could literally destroy your house if done improperly. from what I am hearing it sounds like a post origional construction beam if it does not go from from foundation wall to foundation wall but still as I and Concretemasonry have said, it would necessary to get someone on site to give you the proper options.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: