Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Newbie here w/subfloor question

01-04-07, 04:53 PM   #1  
Newbie here w/subfloor question

Hello all. I am new to this site via a google search. So glad I found you as I have a plethora of DIY projects at my house.

Long story short, in process of remodeling kitchen. Took out 2 walls. Old kitchen had commercial carpet over vinyl floor sheet over another vinyl floor sheet over 1950s vinyl something. The other 2 rooms stolen for kitchen have damaged (beyond repair) 2 1/4" red oak strip flooring.

Underneath the last layer of vinyl something are diagonal planks (about 4" wide). Underneath the hardwood is (I assume) the subfloor.

My husband and I have gone back and forth about what is best for the "look" of the kitchen and what is the most economical and easiest DIY. We are leaning toward replacing the 2 1/4" strip and interlacing into the hallway.

So here are the questions. What the heck are the diagonal planks? Note: they are level with the hardwood so I assume there is another subfloor underneath. Can the diagonal planks be removed? Once joists and subfloor are tightened to remove bounce and squeak, I assume that I can lay the new hardwood strips directly to the subfloor. Or, do I need to add a plywood underlayment?

I should mention this is a 1952 house with a conventional foundation and a big crawl space underneath.

By the way, can we post pictures on this forum? They speak a thousand words.

Last edited by shadytrake; 01-05-07 at 12:07 PM. Reason: Edited to correct my dyslexic DYI

Sponsored Links
Super Moderator

CANADA

01-05-07, 04:16 AM   #2  
shadytrake,

We are unable to post pictures directly on this forum at this time.
You must upload to a free photo host like Photobucket and post a link to your images.

GregH.........HVAC/R Tech

01-06-07, 08:19 AM   #3