Post & Beam Construction

Old 06-27-07, 11:26 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Post & Beam Construction

We're in the process of buying some acreage and would like to get a structure to live in built out there paying cash as we go. Also I will be doing most, if not all, of the work myself and I've never built before. I did redo 2 bathrooms (subfloor to ceiling sheetrock, plumbing, etc.) and some other stuff around the house we sold last summer. If the research I've done so far is correct it appears that our most cost effective option and the one that allows for some miscalculations on my part is a Post & Beam (a.k.a. Pole Barn) construction.

So on to the questions:
1. Can anyone recommend books and/or websites that cover the process from start to finish? I have purchased the book Sweat Equity but it is geared towards building a traditional stick built home but covers a lot of things that will be common to whatever structure I built (plumbing, electrical, etc).
2. Would any of the approaches to a subfloor be close as far as cost? Currently it seems that wood or cement are doable however wood appeals to be more since it would require less site preparation if I did a raised floor, correct?

Thank you for your time.

Old 06-28-07, 04:06 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
How is it that post and beam allows for miscalculations?

I don't quite follow your question #2. A raised floor made out of what? And how high do you mean by raised?