painted hardwood subflooring as bathroom floor?

Old 07-24-07, 05:08 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wink painted hardwood subflooring as bathroom floor?

Hey there,
I'm doing a renovation on a tight budget, and it has come time to decide what to do with my bathroom floor. I've moved the location of the bathroom, so right now, there is just hardwood subflooring in what will soon be the new bathroom. The person who lived here before me painted the subflooring already. I'm not a huge fan of tile to begin with and the tiles I do like seem to be out of my budget. I do murals for a living and came up with a really cool paint idea for the floor. I have no doubt that I can make it look great, but my question is - is it unacceptable to use the subfloor as my floor in the bathroom if it is covered in a few layers of paint and a few coats of polyurethane? I do plan to have large mats as well around the tub. No pets, no kids, just me showering, so the floor doesn't usually get too wet. Is there an issue just with the moisture in the air though? Please tell me if this is a bad idea or if it could work. Thanks!

Old 07-24-07, 05:41 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Advantech subflooring comes to mind. It is what we use in new construction as subflooring. It is tongue and grooved, 4x8x3/4" and has a wax like impregnation that repels water. We don't have to worry too much about rain any more if we don't have a roof on the first day of framing.
Now, the only drawback to that would be if your paint medium would adhere to it. It is possible for you to prime it with Zinser oil based primer and then do your thingy on the floor.
You should be able to seal the edges with a silicone product, and any seams you have to make, as water from a shower will find its way into any opening.
It is not going to look good at first sight, with all the imprinting, advertising and nail placement dots, so you will have your work cut out for yourself.