Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Wood Rot Issue

09-25-07, 07:24 AM   #1  
Wood Rot Issue

So this past weekend I was going to replace a sliding glass patio door 80"x72", that is until I removed the wood trim and the bottom kick plate under the patio door and all the sheathing is dry rotted as well as the wall studs and the support joist that is holding up the door. I'm nearly panicking as I don't know what to do first. Not to pat myself on the back but I'm a pretty handy mechanical engineer that has replaced every window and door in my house, plus I can do moderate auto repairs and have accumilated allot of tools. Is this rot something I can do myself? Where should I begin and what tools and materials should I get or need besides a good stiff drink to calm me down. I do have some pictures of the rot I can share.

Thanks
Frank

Sponsored Links

09-25-07, 09:41 AM   #2  
Try this,
either take a picture of how everything is put together, so you have something to go back to verify, or find the middle of the nearest solid stud even if it is 8ft away, now before cutting make up a 2x8 header that will pass the rot on both sides and either make an a frame and prop it up under the soffit, pull the legs of the a frames in tight to gain a little lift just enough to take the weight off the wall and nail 2x6 across the frame each frame so it can`t move(make sure there is a 2x4 plate on the ground under the frame.Once the ply wood is off take another picture if needed.( word to the wise ) make shallow cuts when cutting into a wall .....
big jax

Group Moderator

NE

09-25-07, 03:50 PM   #3  
Pictures are worth 1000 words. Post 'em if you got 'em.

It's not suprising to find rot under patio doors- you can almost take it for granted that there's going to be rot under them at least at the corners, if not all the way across the subfloor.