using shingles to flatten subfloor

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-08, 05:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 350
using shingles to flatten subfloor

When you use shingles to flatten an area of the subfloor to get it ready for laminate, how to you fasten it to the floor? Just a simple nail in, or should you screw it in?

Also, do you just lay the underlayment right on top of the shingles, or do you put something over the shingles before you put down the underlayment?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-08, 08:42 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,977
shingles?

to build up a subfloor? Wow, thats one I never heard of before. Can't wait for some replies on this.

Sorry, never heard of it before. Always used floor leveling compound.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-08, 09:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 350
Originally Posted by Gunguy45 View Post
to build up a subfloor? Wow, thats one I never heard of before.
If you do a search in the flooring section for "shingles" you find a bunch of posts. Unfortunately, none of those posts (from what I can find) tells you HOW to do it, only that you can use shingles.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-08, 10:06 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,977
shingles

whitenack,
Ahhh now i see. Like i said, i never heard of it, but then, the only flooring work I've ever done was either over concrete, or steel/aluminum subfloor.

I did see one post about putting the roofing felt as the final top layer, but nothing about how to fasten down when yer using laminate (floating I presume?). They were all talking about naildown.

I'm sure you'll be getting a response soon.

Best of Luckl
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-08, 11:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 350
Here's a stupid thought?

Would just an extra layer of underlayment do the job?

THat might be too thick, but I might be able to whittle some off to make it the correct thickness?

WOuld that work, or would that not be stiff enough?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes