Sistering questions for odd joist setup

Old 05-22-08, 04:57 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sistering questions for odd joist setup

I am renovating my brother's 2nd floor bathroom in his 100+year old house. I have a lot of DIY experience, especially with tile work and I know that proper subflooring is essential to proper tile work, yet I haven't sistered joists before. The old floor had very small ceramic tiles but had high and low spots and had a fair amount of deflection. Taking up the tile (which was installed directly on to the plywood subfloor which I know is a no-no) The subfloor consisted of 2 layers of 3/4" plywood on top of the joists. The joists are 16"OC but they are the old 2x6's (2"x6") and they cover a 17' span, now I know where the deflection comes from! Here's the odd part, there is another set of joists, also 2x6 slightly lower than the floor joists, the 1st floor ceiling is attached to them. They are far enough horizontally from the floor joists to fit a modern 2x6 in next to the floor joists that I want to beef up. The bathroom is above a formal dining room, so there is no possibility of adding any type of support from below. Adding sisters to the entire 17' span is not an option, either. I am wondering what the best way would be to beef up the joists? I also want to set the sisters so that they are all level with each other, unlike the current floor. Adding 2x6's to one or even both sides of the joists in the bathroom area? Adding crossbracing? I already see from other sistering posts that using carriage bolts with large washers along with nails seems to be the method of attaching, but am I going to be able to add much stiffness here? Also, in an area where the toilet was, the joists were almost completely cut away for the toilet plumbing, I'll have to rebuild that area. Once the joists are in and level, I'll add two layers of plywood along with a CBU layer or Ditra for isolation under the tile. Any sistering advice is much appreciated! Also-h