Repairing stud with too large a hole bored

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-08, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Repairing stud with too large a hole bored

I have a 2x4 stud in a non load-bearing wall that has a 2" hole bored through it. (I didn't pay close attention to a helper when I asked him to bore the hole....wrong bit!). I'd rather not replace the stud, because I already have two pex pipes and a pvc drain pipe running through the wall (lower, correct-sized holes).

Is there a way to repair the stud so it will pass framing inspection? I was thinking about sistering 2x4's to either side, but they can't reach the floor (because of the other pipes). Is this sufficient/acceptable, or is there another way to do it without replacing the entire stud.

I have a sketch, but no idea how to upload it.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-08, 04:42 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You could either sister a 2x4 against it or cut a piece of 1/2" plywood 3 1/2" wide and a couple of feet long and screw it to the side of the stud. In fact you could screw one on each side to hide the hole.
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-08, 05:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Thank you! I was hoping I could get away with doing that, since it doesn't support anything, but I wasn't sure if there was some framing code rule that prohibited it.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-08, 06:41 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
there are also framing braces that nail onto each side of the stud. They make them that are even rated for a structural load.

go here:

http://www.tamlyn.com/index_files/PlatesandBrackets.htm

and scroll down to stud braces.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-08, 06:30 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,517
I think your framing inspector will want to see the stud braces that Nap mentioned. If you want to do the plywood too, that's up to you, but I bet he'd still flag it if you just did the plywood w/ no braces.
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-08, 05:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks! That's great. I have to put plates over a couple of areas where the top plate was cut, so those braces are perfect for both. Thank you for the link.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes