Using leveling compound over subfloor?

Old 10-26-08, 04:19 PM
Using leveling compound over subfloor?

I'm about to install tile in my bathroom. I've put down a brand new plywood subfloor, which is fairly level, although I've noticed one 2'x2' section in the corner where it is off by as much as 1/2". I plan to put cement board over the plywood, then my tile.

Can I use leveling compound over the plywood and under the cement board? I have never used it before, but I don't want a non-level floor before I put down my tile. Or should I just put an extra thick level of thinset in that area before I put down my cement board?

What would happen if I tried to put the tile down and it wasn't entirely level in this area? Would it just be noticeable or would it crack the tile or anything? This area is in a corner right behind where the toilet will be so it will never be seen. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 10-26-08, 06:55 PM
i would put a "shim" under the next laer of flooring. You say you are going to lay another layer of flooring. I would use a thin wood sheeting to make the floor as solid and level as possible before you get to the next layer. Then your tile job will be much easier.

Old 10-29-08, 09:46 PM
Yeah its ready now. The self leveling compound is for a maximum of 1/2 inch, you can used that if you wish. Or dry pack that coner. Or cheat your tile instalation with the thin set so they dont look to badly out of straight/flat. LEVEL is not a huge deal, but make sure you find out why that corner fell. That may be a big deal.

Old 11-03-08, 05:16 PM
Thanks. If the tile being level is not a big deal, I will probably just pack it up a bit with mortar or use some of that leveling compound. As I said, it will be behind the toilet so no one will see it. I can't even tell it's not level unless I use a level on it.

Old 11-05-08, 01:49 PM