Pier & Beam Repair?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-28-09, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lubbock
Posts: 106
Pier & Beam Repair?

Hi all. I have an old pier & beam house (strictly speaking, I think it's actually block & beam). There are segments of the beams that are rotted and need to be repaired. What does this entail? Can I just go in an cut out the segment ("segment" defined as the piece spanning two piers) and replace that piece of wood? Or do I have to replace the entire biem; i.e., does the beam have to be continuous along the length of the house?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-30-09, 06:09 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Beams should be continuous. Can you install new piers & beams next to the damaged ones?
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-09, 06:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lubbock
Posts: 106
Thanks for the response. I guess so; but I'd rather not do that considering that the current piers are already settled into the soil. So if a small part of a beam rots, the usual remedy is to replace the entire beam? That seems extreme; of course, I say this not knowing anything about it . . . .
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-09, 06:59 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
If there is enough room on the pier to sister a new beam next to the current one, you could do that or just sister a 2 x _ (fill in the size) whatever fits. I know an architect who would cringe at the idea of a non continuous beam. I believe it's against code.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes