Gap...ceiling joist and top pannel

Old 07-29-09, 10:13 PM
Gap...ceiling joist and top pannel

Hey everyone, I'm new to this form and new to basement remodeling. My names Stefan, hello to everyone. So anyways after doing some research i came across this site and found that the tutorial listed tutorial was one of the simplest ways to frame my basement walls, compared to other methods(for example furring the walls) .

The tutorial says to build to the shortest - floor to ceiling joist height. I did that but now i'm left with a 1 1/2" gap between the joist and my top panel in certain areas.

Is this normal? Should I shim in between the gap with wedges and them screw through the top panel, wedge and then ceiling joist?

And i also have a concern with the distance my framing end up from the basement wall.

If i get any closer I no longer have contact with the ceiling joist. Is there a way around this?

Any help is appreciated, sorry if I am asking something simple, it's my first time framing a wall of any kind

Sponsored Links
Old 07-30-09, 03:40 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Stefan: Welcome to the forums! You should add a 2x4 to the gap to complete the top plate which should be 2 boards thick. As far as setting your wall back, you can add blocking between the joists at the same height as the bottom of the joists, then slide your wall back, fastening it to the blocking. The bottom plate looks to be pressure treated, just make sure it is.
Glad you asked the questions before you got it all tied in. You can at least make adjustments.

Old 07-30-09, 09:20 AM