Soft flooring under tub?

Old 02-08-10, 06:59 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Soft flooring under tub?

Please bear with me...

I have a 2nd floor bathroom with a whirlpool tub. It had a leak due to some strange plumbing which has been taken care of. But I have noticed the caulking is not staying intact. Have tried every type of caulking and it always cracks or pulls away from the bottom surface.

Went into a hardware store, explained the situation, and the person there suggested that since there had been a leak, perhaps the flooring under the tub is now soft, and the caulk cracks when there is weight put on the tub (ie: person, water)

It makes sense to me...but I have no experience whatsoever.

What would be the best way to replace the soft wood underneath? I can't really afford a contractor, so I'd like to do as much as humanly possible. The kitchen is the room underneath the tub.

My ex suggested that I would have to remove the drywall in the kitchen ceiling, run new floorboards the length of the room and re-drywall. Is there an easier way? I can do the dry wall part, but wouldnt' know where to begin with running floorboards.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-08-10, 03:21 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Your wife is partially correct. Accessing it from the kitchen is a good idea to inspect the damage but it doesn't mean that you won't have to remove the tub or the tile floor. It all depends on what you find.

Did you see signs of the leak in the kitchen when it leaked?

Old 02-08-10, 07:07 PM
It almost sounded like you said that somebody told you to rip out the drywall ceiling beneath your bathroom in order to remove and replace the subfloor. But that can't be right. I must've misread your post.

What ype of flooring do you have in the bath room and do you know if it runs underneath the tub?