Stone Foundation Problems

Old 03-16-10, 09:23 PM
Stone Foundation Problems

Hi,

I have a very old home. The front part is a story and a half log cabin covered with wood siding. The back part is a "bump out" added on some time after the original structure. The stones in the foundation are loose in places so the foundation needs repaired. Could you repair the foundation by mixing some type of concrete in with the stones to make it secure? If so, what type of concrete? Where/how would you find a place to start so the the foundation would be level after the repair? The floor joists are hand hewned(spelling?) logs.

I unfortunetly don't have photos. Any information general or specific would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,

Bonnie

Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-10, 03:57 AM
Hi Bonnie, I'm not a pro in this field, but you have two issues, stabilizing the foundation and leveling the house.

Stabilizing the foundation will depend upon how bad it is. Solutions will range from something like you suggested to supporting parts of the home and rebuilding what is there.

Leveling the foundation, which means leveling the house is entirely a different issue. Old homes are kind of set in their ways, old people I guess, and hard to change. The framing, the plaster, and the layer upon layer of paint have all adjusted to the current shape and will often refuse to change, at least easily.

How many of you are there to tackle this and do you have any experience? Or were you planning on hiring someone.

Bud

Old 03-17-10, 10:15 PM
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
Hi Bonnie, I'm not a pro in this field, but you have two issues, stabilizing the foundation and leveling the house.

Stabilizing the foundation will depend upon how bad it is. Solutions will range from something like you suggested to supporting parts of the home and rebuilding what is there.