Underlayment over Advantech?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-11, 10:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Underlayment over Advantech?

I have a 20'x20' area on the second floor of my new addition that I intend to cover with carpeting. The subfloor is 3/4" advantech T&G glued & nailed (ring shank) to
10" joists spaced 16" oc. Will I need to install a plywood underlayment or is this considered solid enough as is? The joist span is 12' max. The floor feels very solid already. The space will be used as a bedroom/hallway.

thanks for your opinions
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-11, 04:24 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Sorry for the delayed response. It is customary to apply another 1/2" plywood at opposite grains to the Advantech prior to installing flooring, whether it be tile underlayment or wood. How does your floor match up to the remainder of the house. I would suspect it is a little lower than the remainder. If so, apply the additional 1/2" then put down the carpeting. IF it matches, then carpeting would be no problem. If you ever decide to pull the carpeting and install hardwood, you may want to add more stability to the floor, so provided you have the space, you can do it now. You didn't specify the size of your floor joisting, as that will have some effect on what you should do.
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-11, 06:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,183
If the rooms to get just carpet any thickness underlayment that's subfloor rated, that gets all the floors even will work.
The problum I see is with Advantec it's made so there's a gap at the seams to allow for expantion. There going to show through the carpet.
Over time those nails are going to work loose once the wood drys out. I'd add a ton of 3" long ceramic coated deck screws. Look over some of the other post where there now stuck with removing the carpeting to get to the sub floors to now add screws.
Any under layment never gets attached into the joist and the seams below should never line up with the underlayment.
Underlayment rated means it will have ext. glue and no voids in the cores.
What your trying to do is pull down the underlayment tight to the subfloor where there is always a tiny gap between the joist.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes