how to connect framed basement wall sections

Old 02-21-11, 09:55 PM
how to connect framed basement wall sections

Greetings,

I am a newbie DIY'er and I have recently started framing my basement. Maybe this is a silly question. My exterior wall is approx 36ft long. I obviously cant buy 36 ft plates. I have used 12 foot plates and measured 15 1/4 from the end of first plate and then proceeded to frame 16 o.c. for the rest of the 12 foot section. My question is how do I connect the next 12 ft section? The way I did it was to repeat the process of the first 12 ft section and butt the ends of the plates together. Was this wrong? Should I not have placed a stud at the begining of the second plate and repeated 15 1/4 measurement etc... Should I have measured 16 oc from last stud of first 12 foot section to place the first stud on 2nd plate? Any info is much appreciated.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 02-22-11, 03:53 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation