Help With Rafters

Old 06-23-11, 02:24 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help With Rafters

Hi guys...new to the forum.

I am getting ready to build a patio cover in the back yard. I'm a rookie carpenter, but I can swing a hammer and turn a wrench. However, I do not know how to read a framing square.

I originally planned on a simple shed type roof under the eaves and it has kind of grown from there. I quickly realized that head room issues would severely limit me if I went under the eaves, not to mention for just a little more money I could do it better.

With that said, I now plan to tie into the plate of the exterior wall and put in a 5/12 hip roof. This is going to tie into my existing 5/12 gable. I will use double 2x12's on notched 6x6 posts for the beams. The dimensions will be 16' wide (to outside of beams) and 14' deep (outside of beam to exterior wall) with a 16" overhang.

The first thing I need to tackle will be the ridge board and common rafters. Since its not simply a square room I don't know how to figure out the length of my ridge. I plan to use the step-off method on the rafters. The biggest question I have here is how do I determine where to cut my birdsmouth once I make my plumb and seat cuts for the soffit and fascia?

Old 06-23-11, 02:40 PM
M
What you need to do is go down to HD or Lowes and buy a Swanson Speed Square,it will set you back about 10 bucks.With the speed square you'll get a little blue book with it that will tell you in the simplest way to cut a roof in and also give you the exact cuts with the dimensions from your room.I've taught many a rookie carpenter using this little book to give them and it works every time.Also remember that when you make a hip cut,always remember that you use a 5/17 pitch cut not a 5/12 in this case .Like say for instance you were using a 7/12 pitch you would make your hip cut 7/17.

Old 06-23-11, 02:45 PM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts