Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Replace/repair sub-floor in mobile home?

WA

08-09-11, 04:19 PM   #1  
Replace/repair sub-floor in mobile home?

Complete newbie looking for guidance! Please be gentle, I'm a pasty-white nerd lady with very little DIY experience but a huge will TO do it!

We were given a free mobile home (1984 Redman double wide.) The guy died many years ago, but his cats stayed in it for some time. Ew. We’ve ripped up the carpet and padding, only to find the floor is made of particle board. I'm told it is likely 5/8 as is standard in that year and model.

Thanks to a leaky roof (fixed) and leak in the kitchen (fixed) the floor swelled up like crazy and “refreshed” the cat pee smell. It’s AWFUL!

We would like to save as much of the floor as possible due to money constraints (I'm not cheap, just poor--single mom, 3 kids one of which has a life-threatening illness), but we’re also concerned that the smell might be an issue even on the particle board that isn’t swollen. I absolutely cannot accept a house that smells like old kitty ~shudder~

My question is do we replace the entire floor or do we just cut out the swollen, bad parts, replace with plywood, then Killz the whole thing to seal in any possible smells? (I've been researching like crazy, just not confident yet.) I've been told KIllz will cover any smell that might have gotten into the undamaged particle board, but I have no experience with it, so I'm not sure.